The Uttarakhand Congress Thursday passed a resolution to appoint Rahul Gandhi as All India Congress Committee (AICC) President.

With this Uttarakhand Congress became the sixth party state unit to pass such a resolution. Earlier in the day, neighbouring Uttar Pradesh too passed a similar resolution.

The Uttarakhand Congress also urged the All India Congress Committee (AICC) president Sonia Gandhi to formalise Pritam Singh as elected state Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) president.

The two decisions were taken in the presence of nearly 200 PCC members at party headquarters in Dehradun.

All the PCC members unanimously supported the resolution proposed by Leader of the Opposition in the state assembly Indira Hridayesh nominating Rahul Gandhi as new AICC president. AICC election in-charge JP Aggarwal and state co-in-charge Sanjay Kapoor were also present at the meeting.

Hridayesh said she wanted to table a proposal before all PCC members to request Sonia Gandhi to nominate Rahul Gandhi as new AICC chief in order to strengthen party organisation. Her proposal was seconded by PCC president Pritam Singh. “It will help the party fight divisive forces in the country and steer it through 2019 general elections successfully,” he said.

Hridayesh then asked PCC members to raise hands in support of the resolution. It was accepted unanimously .

Following this former chief minister Harish Rawat came up with second proposal saying that the AICC chief must be left with discretion for declaring Pritam Singh —who was nominated as new PCC president on May 4, 2017 — as elected state Congress chief.

Rawat’s proposal was seconded by senior party leader and former state forest minister Dinesh Aggarwal and others. This has paved the way for Pritam Singh to be declared as elected state chief by the AICC president which is mere a formality.

Speaking on the occasion, Aggarwal expressed his satisfaction in the way state organisational election passed off peacefully.

“As state organisational election in-charge, I feel happy to announce that all Block Returning Officers and District Returning Officers (BROs and DROs) have conducted the organisational election successfully in their respectively areas without any hindrance which is an unlikely event,” he said.

On Wednesday, working committee of the Maharashtra and Haryana Congress unanimously passed a proposal to make Rahul the party president. Prior to that, the Delhi and Rajasthan units of the AICC had passed a similar resolution .